Apple

How to Disable Thumbnail Preview Screenshot on Mac

0
How to Disable Thumbnail Preview Screenshot on Mac

When you take a screenshot on a Mac, macOS usually displays a small thumbnail of the screenshot in the lower right corner of the screen for a few moments before saving the image. If you find this annoying, it’s easy to turn off. This is how you do it.

Why Does It Even Have Thumbnails?

You might be wondering: why show thumbnails at all? As far as we know, Apple decided this would be the best way to trigger the default MacOS screenshot editing feature, which has been around since Mac OS X 10.14 Mojave.

If you click the screenshot of the screenshot that appears, the screenshot will open in a special editor that allows you to crop the image or annotate it with an image, shape, or text before saving it to disk. You also have the opportunity to discard the image if you don’t like it.

1

But that’s a lot of extra ability for people who just want to quickly take screenshots. Fortunately, Apple makes it easy to disable this feature.

How to Disable Thumbnail Preview Screenshot on Mac

To disable screenshot thumbnails, press Command + Shift + 5 from anywhere on the Mac. A screenshot of a special toolbar will appear at the bottom of the screen. Click on the “Options” button.

2

A small menu will appear. In the “Options” section of the menu, uncheck “Show Floating Thumbnails.”

3

When finished, close the screenshot toolbar by pressing the “Escape” button or clicking the small “X” button.

From now on, every time you take a screenshot using Command + Shift + 3 or Command + Shift + 4, the image will be quickly saved directly to the right destination. No more thumbnail delays!

How to add filters to images in the Photos apps in Windows 10

Previous article

How to Swim and Dive in Animal Crossing: New Horizons

Next article

You may also like

More in Apple